Technical data

What does the unit mV/V mean?

The output signal of a force sensor or a Wheatstone bridge is dependent on the level of the supply voltage.

The higher the supply voltage, the higher the output signal

By specifying the output per volt supply voltage, you can compare the sensors themselves.

Sensors with strain gauges deliver approximately 0 mV / V in the unloaded condition and-depending on the sensor approximately 0.5 mV / V to 3,5mV / V at full load.

The measuring amplifiers are designed for this signal level: measuring amplifier with a supply voltage of 5V, for example, handle input voltages between -17,5mV to + 17,5mV

What is "input sensitivity"?

The technical datasheets of bridge amplifiers do not specify the amplification factor and the supply voltage.

Imagine a sensor with 2 mV/V bridge output (at 100% load), and an amplifier with 5V bridge supply:
2 mV / V x 5V supply voltage = 10mV
multiplied with a gain of 1000
10mV x 1000 
results in 10 V output voltage of the amplifier

Instead it is easear to define as follows
2 mV / V output signal of the sensor (at full load)
2 mV / V input sensitivity, the amplifier
fits -> 100% output of the amplifier at 100% load on the sensor.

What does "characteristic value" mean?

The characteristic value of a sensor is the change of the output signal at 100% load.

The term is defined in the VDI guideline 2638: output signal at rated force, decreased by the zero signal ...

The output signal is expressed in mV per volt bridge voltage (mV/V).

Typical characteristic values of sensors are 2 mV/V, or 1 mV/V, or 0.5 mV/V, partly also 3 mV/V. A sensor with sensitivity 2 mV/V (at nominal force) therefore provides 10mV output signal with an amplifier of 5V bridge supply voltage  (as differential voltage between + bridge output and - bridge output)

What is the difference between characteristic value and rated characteristic value?

The terms are defined in the VDI 2638 (for force sensors) and VDI 2639 (for torque sensors).
the characteristic value is the actual output of the sensor. So this is defined in the test report or in the calibration certificate.
The rated characteristic value (or rated sensitivity) is the "target" (theoretical value) for the characteristic value. The rated sensitivity is therefore defined in the generally technical data sheet for this sensor type (not in the protocol for a specific and real sensor).

What does "strain" mean?

Strain is a measure of the relative change in length Δl/l

The units of strain are: m/m,μm/m, ppm (parts per million), %, ‰

What does cut-off frequency mean?

A low-pass filter is usually used for measuring amplifiers with analog output. But also the electronic components, like e.g. Interference suppression or instrumentation amplifiers have the characteristic of a low-pass filter: Signal components of higher frequencies are amplified less than signal components of lower frequencies (the amplification bandwidth product of the instrumentation amplifier is responsible for this). 

As a rule, low-pass filters with cut-off frequencies are deliberately used well below the capabilities of an instrument amplifier. Limit frequency means: a signal with this frequency is only transmitted with approx. 70% compared to the expected amplitude. The "order" of the low-pass filter also describes how much the amplitude is reduced (damped) with increasing frequency. The order describes the steepness of the filter characteristic curve. Third order filters are common for amplifiers with analog output. For a third order filter, the attenuation is -20dB per decade: If the frequency increases by a factor of 10, the amplitude decreases by a factor of 1000.

The reason for using a filter is that the filter reduces the statistical dispersion of the signals: The noise amplitude is reduced if the "bandwidth", i.e. the range of frequencies that may pass through the filter undamped, is restricted. This improves the resolution of the measuring amplifier. The rule of thumb is: One tenth of the bandwidth reduces the noise amplitude by a factor of 3. This is especially true if the signal contains all the frequencies equally.

Usually, there are some outstanding freuence components within the noise: e.g. 50Hz for interferences from the network.

When selecting the low-pass filter, the cut-off frequency should be at least 5 times higher than the signal frequencies to be measured so that the measurement result is not distorted. The low pass filter should be as low as possible and as high as necessary.

https://www.me-systeme.de/en/technology-first/electronics/basics/filter

https://www.me-systeme.de/en/technology-first/electronics/basics/comparison

https://www.me-systeme.de/en/technology-first/electronics/gsv-6/aufloesung-gsv-6bt

What does data frequency mean?

Measuring amplifiers with interface convert the analog signal into a digital signal with the help of an analog/digital converter. This happens at fixed (often configurable) intervals. The analog/digital converter captures the analog signal of the so-called sampling frequency. Similar to analog filters, the scattering of the signals is reduced. This is done by using digital filters.

The simplest digital filter is the averaging filter. The use of a digital filter (usually) reduces the amount of data. The data made available via the interface (USB, RS232, UART, CANbus, Ethernet, etc...) are sent at fixed intervals with the data frequency. 

A very low data frequency often has a negative effect on a control loop. Therefore, the moving average is usually used. With the moving average, the number of data at the output remains equal to the number of data at the input of the filter. High frequencies are filtered, which can be most clearly seen with the so-called step response of the filter: A signal jump at the input is reproduced with a transient response time at the output.

The time constant of a mean value filter is the number of averages "m". times sampling interval "T" (with very good approximation from 100 averages). The cut-off frequency Fg of a filter is related to the time constant: Fg = 1/(2 pi m T). 

At an internal sampling frequency of e.g. 10.000Hz and a configured data frequency of e.g. 100Hz, the cut-off frequency is about 16Hz. Rule of thumb: The cut-off frequency is about 1/6 of the (set) data frequency.

https://www.me-systeme.de/en/technology-first/electronics/basics/filter

https://www.me-systeme.de/en/technology-first/electronics/basics/comparison

https://www.me-systeme.de/en/technology-first/electronics/gsv-6/aufloesung-gsv-6bt

Technische Daten

Was bedeutet die Einheit mV/V?

Das Ausgangssignal eines Kraftsensors bzw. einer Wheatstoneschen Brücke ist abhängig von der Höhe der Speisespannung.

Je höher die Speisespannung, desto höher auch das Ausgangssignal

Indem man das Ausgangssignal pro Volt Speisespannung angibt, kann man die Sensoren untereinander vergleichen.

Sensoren mit Dehnungsmessstreifen liefern ca. 0 mV/V im unbelasteten Zustand und -je nach Sensor- ca. 0,5 mV/V bis 3,5mV/V bei voller Belastung.

Die Messverstärker sind für diese Signalpegel ausgelegt: Messverstärker mit einer Speisespannung von z.B. 5V verarbeiten Eingangsspannungen zwischen -17,5mV bis +17,5mV

dms-grundlagen

Wofür steht "Eingangsempfindlichkeit"?

Beim Messverstärker gibt man nicht den Verstärkungsfaktor und die Speisespannung an und rechnet dann
2mV/V (Ausgangssignal vom Sensor bei 100% Belastung)
mal 5V (Speisespannung des Verstärkers)
mal 1000 (Verstärkungsfaktor des Verstärkers)
ergibt = 10 V (Ausgangssignal des Verstärkers)
sondern
2mV/V Ausgangssignal liefert der Sensor (bei voller Last)
2mV/V Eingangsempfindlichkeit hat der Verstärker
passt, -->100% Aussteuerung am Verstärker bei 100% Belastung auf dem Sensor.

Was bedeutet "Kennwert"?

Der Kennwert eines Sensors ist die Änderung des Ausgangssignals bei 100% Belastung.

Der Begriff ist in der VDI Richtlinie 2638 definiert: Ausgangssignal bei Nennkraft, vermindert 
um das Nullsignal...

Das Ausgangssignal wird in mV pro Volt Brückenspannung angegeben (mV/V).

Typische Kennwerte von Sensoren sind 2 mV/V, oder 1 mV/V, oder 0.5 mV/V, teilweise auch 3 mV/V. Ein Sensor mit Kennwert 2 mV/V (bei Nennkraft) liefert mit einem Verstärker mit 5V Brückenspeisespannung also 10mV Ausgangssignal (als Differenzspannung zwischen +Brückenausgang und -Brückenausgang)

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen "Kennwert" und "Nennkennwert"

Die Begriffe sind in der VDI 2638 (für Kraftsensoren) und VDI 2639 (für Drehmomentsensoren) definiert.

Kennwert ist das tatsächliche Ausgangssignal des Sensors. Dieses steht also im Prüfprotokoll oder im Werkszertifikat oder im Kalibrierschein.

Der Nennkennwert ist der "Zielwert" für den Kennwert. Der Nennkennwert steht also im allgemeinen technischen Datenblatt für diesen Sensortyp (nicht im Protokoll für den einen speziellen und wirklichen Sensor)

Was bedeutet Dehnung?

Dehnung ist ein Maß für die relative Längenänderung Δl/l

Die Einheiten für Dehnung sind m/m,μm/m, ppm (parts per million), %, ‰

Was bedeutet Grenzfrequenz?

Bei Messverstärkern mit Analogausgang wird in der Regel ein Tiefpassfilter eingesetzt. Aber auch die elektronischen Bauteile, wie z.B. Entstörschutz, oder auch die Instrumentenverstärker haben die Eigenschaft eines Tiefpasses: Signalanteile höherer Frequenz werden weniger verstärkt, als Signalanteile mit niedrigen Frequenzen (das Verstärkungs-Bandbreite Produkt des Instrumentenverstärkers ist hierfür verantwortlich. 

In der Regel setzt man absichtlich Tiefpässe mit Grenzfrequenzen deutlich unterhalb der Möglichkeiten eines Instrumentenverstärkers ein. Grenzfrequenz bedeutet: ein Signal mit dieser Frequenz wird nur noch mit ca. 70% gegenüber der eigentlich erwarteten Amplitude abgebildet. Die "Ordnung" des Tiefpassfilters beschreibt außerdem, wie stark die Amplitude mit zunehmender Frequenz verrmindert (gedämpft) wird. Die Ordnung beschreibt dabei die Steilheit der Filterkennlinie. Üblich bei Messverstärkern mit Analogausgang sind Filter dritter Ordnung. Bei einem Filter dritter Ordnung beträgt die Dämpfung -20dB pro Dekade: Bei einer Zunahme der Frequenz um den Faktor 10 sinkt die Amplitude um den Faktor 1000.

Der Grund für den Einsatz eines Filters besteht darin, dass durch das Filter die statistische Streuung der Signale verringert wird: Die Rauschamplitude wird verringert, wenn die "Bandbreite", also der Bereich an Frequenzen, die das Filter ungedämpft passieren dürfen, eingeschränkt wird. Die Auflösung des Messverstärkers wird dadurch verbessert. Als Fautregel gilt: Ein Zehntel der Bandbreite vermindert die Rauschamplitude um den Faktor 3. Das gilt insbesondere dann, wenn im Signal alle Freuenzanteile gleichmäßig enthalten sind.

Üblicherweise gibt es einzelne herausragende Freuenzanteile innerhalb des Rauschens: z.B. 50Hz für Einstreuungen aus dem Netz.

Bei der Auswahl des Tiefpassfilters sollte die Grenzfrequenz wenigstens 5-fach oberhalb der zu messenden Signalfrequenzen liegen, damit das Messergebnis nicht verfälscht wird. Das Tiefpassfilter sollte so niedrig wie möglich und so hoch wie nötig gewählt werden.

https://www.me-systeme.de/de/technik-zuerst/elektronik/grundlagen/filter

https://www.me-systeme.de/de/technik-zuerst/elektronik/grundlagen/uebersicht

https://www.me-systeme.de/de/technik-zuerst/elektronik/gsv-6/aufloesung-gsv-6bt

Was bedeutet Datenfrequenz?

Messverstärker mit Schnittstelle wandeln mit Hilfe eines Analog/Digital Umformers das analoge Signal in ein digitales. Dies geschieht in festgelegten (oft konfigurierbaren) Intervallen. Der Analog/Digital Umformer erfasst das Analogsignal der sogenannten Abtastfrequenz. Ähnlich wie bei analogen Filtern versucht man die Streuung der Signale zu vermindern. Dies geschieht durch den Einsatz digitaler Filter.

Der einfachste digitale Filter ist das Mittelwertfilter. Durch den Einsatz eines digitalen Filters wird (in der Regel) die Anzahl der Daten vermindert. Die Daten, die über die Schnittstelle (USB, RS232, UART, CANbus, Ethernet, etc...) zur Verfügung gestellt werden, werden in festgelegten Intervallen mit der Datenfreqenz gesendet. 

Eine sehr niedrige Datenfrequenz wirkt sich oft nachteilig in einem Regelkreis aus. Daher setzt man meist die gleitende Mittelwertbildung (moving average) ein. Beim gleitenden Mittelwert bleibt die Anzahl der Daten am Ausgang gleich der Anzahl der Daten am Eingang des Filters. Hohe Freuenzen werden gefiltert, was sich am anschaulichsten mit der sogenannten Sprungantwort des Filters nachvollziehen lässt: Ein Signalsprung am Eingang wird mit einer Einschwingzeit am Ausgang verlangsamt wiedergegeben.

Die Zeitkonstante eines Mittelwertfilters ist Anzahl der Mittelungen "m" mal Abtastintervall "T" (mit  sehr guter Näherungab ab 100 Mittelungen). Die Grenzfrequenz Fg eines Filters hängt mit der Zeitkonstante zusammen: Fg = 1/(2 pi m T). 

Bei einer internen Abtastfrequenz von z.B. 10.000Hz und einer konfigurierten Datenfrequenz von z.B. 100Hz beträgt die Grenzfrequenz etwa 16Hz. Faustregel: Die Grenzfrequenz beträgt etwa 1/6 der (eingestellten) Datenfrequenz.

https://www.me-systeme.de/de/technik-zuerst/elektronik/grundlagen/filter

https://www.me-systeme.de/de/technik-zuerst/elektronik/grundlagen/uebersicht